Home Technology Guide WhatsApp updated policy- Everything you need to know about it

WhatsApp updated policy- Everything you need to know about it

0
whatsapp-updated-policy-everything-you-need-to-know-about-it

WhatsApp is one of the free messaging apps available for Android and other smartphone users. It allows users to send text messages and voice messages, make voice and video calls, and share images, documents, user locations, and other media available on phones all over the world. WhatsApp, is an American freeware, cross-platform messaging, and Voice over IP service owned by Facebook, Inc released in 2009. It crossed over 2 billion users worldwide as of February 2020 and become the world’s most popular messaging app in 2015. It is a fast, simple, secure messaging app and comes with new updates from time to time.

What’s WhatsApp’s new privacy policy?

The new notifications popped up in every WhatsApp user states that its terms and policies are being updated.WhatsApp is in the middle of the storm after its new privacy policy update of sharing a date with its parent company Facebook. It comes with a choice to accept the terms and service of this new policy till February 8, 2021, or delete their account.

The havoc created over the internet as people creating memes on WhatsApp new policy and thought of switching on another messaging app. The people concerns about their personal data sharing like messages, pictures, and videos over Facebook might become the chances to disclose their data worldwide. They also worry about running ads on WhatsApp.

It created a misconception among people without giving the proper details users need. To clear the ambiguity among users, WhatsApp head Will Cathcart also wrote a thread on Twitter. “With end-to-end encryption, we cannot see your private chats or calls, and neither can Facebook. We’re committed to this technology and committed to defending it globally.”

What is WhatsApp sharing with Facebook?

WhatsApp’s new policy says that share your information with its family of companies to “facilitate, support and integrate their activities and improve our services.”Basically, WhatsApp shares data for example when you create an account on WhatsApp and give your mobile phone number and some basic personal information is being collected by WhatsApp. It also collects data when you allow sharing your location with your family and friends.

But WhatsApp has some optional features which, if used by the user, require them to collect additional information to provide such features. If you choose to not allow the feature, your information doesn’t provide it to anybody. For example, you cannot share your location with your contacts if you do not permit them to collect your location data from your device.

It only shares what device you use, your mobile network, IP address among others. That’s all the information WhatsApp sharing with Facebook. The new policy doesn’t share your chats, it will continue to end-to-end encrypted. It’s simply saying no third party will read these chats.

WhatsApp claims-We does not retain your messages in the ordinary course of providing our Services to you. Instead, your messages stored on your device and not typically stored on our servers. Once your messages are delivered, they are deleted from our servers. “It doesn’t share your pictures, videos, or track your audio and video files that you share with your friends, family. It remains end-to-end encrypted, just like your text messages.

Read More: Best Websites and Apps to watch documentaries

Will WhatsApp running ads or not?

No ads are running on WhatsApp as it doesn’t introduce in the policy. But if they ever do, they will update this privacy policy.

What does the policy say about businesses with Facebook?

The policy says that some “businesses might be working with third-party service providers which may include Facebook to help manage their communications with their customers. It becomes important for WhatsApp as it has over 50 million business accounts which help to monetize and expands business. The content shared feature is only visible to those users who intend to do business on WhatsApp. It also suggests users read “business’ privacy policy or contact the business directly” if they do business on WhatsApp.

Read More: Some interesting facts about Microsoft team

What’s your call in accepting their privacy policy?

So if you continue to use WhatsApp services, you don’t have another option instead of accepting their privacy policy. Or you can delete their account or switch to another messaging app if you don’t want to agree with their policy. What’s your call? Write in the comment section below.

Read More: Goojara: One stop to stream free movies

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version